British Values



The government set out its definition of British values in the 2011 Prevent Strategy and the Department for Education has introduced a statutory duty for schools to promote British Values more actively from September 2014, and to ensure they are taught in schools.


The five key British Values are:

  • Democracy
  • The rule of law
  • Individual liberty
  • Mutual respect
  • Tolerance of those of different faiths and beliefs


William Reynolds Primary School & Nursery is committed to serving its community. As a school we are already incorporating these values through the planned taught curriculum as part of their links with Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural aspects of learning.

We work with pupils to recognise the multi-cultural, multi-faith and ever-changing development of the United Kingdom. We understand that we play a vital role in ensuring that groups or individuals within the school are not subjected to intimidation or radicalisation by those wishing to unduly, or illegally, influence them.


Our Equal Opportunities Policy guides staff in working to eliminate discrimination against any individual or group, regardless of faith, ethnicity, gender, sexuality, political or financial status, or similar. As a school we are committed to preparing pupils for adult life.


In these assemblies, we will explore these five key British Values to work with pupils in order for them to understand other people’s views and to form and express their own views.